IAS Andrew W. Smith Outstanding Young Member Achievement Award

About the Award

This award (established in 1996; renamed 2009; renamed 2015) recognizes outstanding achievement and contribution to the profession through involvement in IEEE IAS activities by an IAS member less than 35 years of age.


Nominees must be under 35 years of age at the specified award nomination due date. To be considered as a nominee, a one page form must be completed describing IAS activities and associated contributions made by the nominee. The form must be submitted and received by the IAS President before the specified due date of April 1. Self nomination is not permitted for this award.

Basis for Judging:

Outstanding contribution to the profession in the form of IEEE/IAS activities such as (but not limited to) authorship of technical papers, IAS chapter leadership, IAS committee work, conference leadership, and standards working groups.

Nomination Deadline:

Nominations are accepted from 1 January through 1 April.

Online Submission Form:

Submit a nomination through our online submission form. Only online submissions will be accepted for award nominations.


$3,000, Plaque and travel expenses to attend an IAS sponsored conference for presentation and recognition.

Funded by:

Funded by the IEEE Industry Applications Society.


The selected recipient is notified by June 1 and arrangements for receiving the award are made. Presentation of the award is at IEEE Industry Applications Society Annual Meeting, or any other IAS sponsored conference that the recipient choses.

Award Honorees

Zhaohao Ding

Latest Award Winner

The 2022 IEEE Industry Applications Andrew W. Smith Outstanding Young Member Achievement Award was presented at the 2022 IAS Annual Meeting/ECCE to ZhaoHao Ding.

Past Recipients Include:

Click here to view past winners

YearAward Recipient
2021 Zheyu Zhang
2020 Yue Zhao
2019 Jiangbiao He
2018 Pinjia Zhang
2017 Xu She
2016 David C. Mazur
2015 Tiefu Zhao
2014 Bin Lu
2013 Akshay Kumar Rathore
2012 Zhi Gao
2011 no recipient
2010 Dr. Wei Qiao
2009 Dr. Ayman M. EL-Rafaie
2008 Nadezhda A. Dvurechenskaya
2007 Leila Parsa
2006 Burak Ozpineci
2005 Ganesh Kumar Venayagamoorthy
2004 Dan Neeser
2003 Michael J. Hittel
2002 Giovanna Oriti
2001 Leon M. Tolbert
2000 Annette von Jouanne
1999 Kimberly K. Eastwood
1998 Iqbal Husain
1997 S. Mark Halpin
1996 Christine M. Kent