IAS Outstanding Achievement Award

About the Award

This award honors an individual who has made an outstanding contribution in the application of electricity to industry in accordance with the scope of the IEEE Industry Applications Society. This award was first presented in 1969.


Only one nomination per nominee will be evaluated. The first recorded nomination (earliest date) will be forwarded for the evaluation in case of multiple nominations received of a single nominee.

An IAS Board member can neither serve as a nominator nor be a nominee.

Basis for Judging:

Any of the following criteria apply: invention in the field as exemplified by issued patents; contribution to the general engineering or scientific basis of the technologies found within the scope of the IAS; executive or managerial contribution in the organization or operation of enterprises as associated with the scope of the IAS. Self nomination is not permitted for this award.

Nomination Deadline:

Nominations are accepted from 1 January through 1 April.

Online Submission Form:

Submit a nomination through our online submission form. Only online submissions will be accepted for award nominations.


$5,000 and engraved statuette

Funded by:

The IEEE Industry Applications Society


At IAS Annual Meeting or other IAS sponsored conference chosen by the recipient.

Award Honorees


Latest Award Winner

The 2022 IEEE Industry Applications Society Outstanding Achievement Award was presented to Iqbal Husain at the 2022 ECCE/IAS Annual Meeting Conferences.

Past Recipients Include:

Click here to view past winners

Year Award Recipient
2021 Prasad Enjeti
2020 Fang Z. Peng
2019 Zi-Qiang Zhu
2018 Dianguo Xu
2017 Braham Ferreira
2016 Seung-Ki Sul
2015 Pragasen Pillay
2014 Thomas A. Nondahl Longya Xu
2013 Muhammad H. Rashid
2012 no recipient
2011 Dr. Thomas Jahns
2010 Dr. Tomy Sebastian
2009 Dr. Kaushik Rajashekara
2008 Paresh C. Sen
2007 Caio Ferreira
2006 Jacobus Daniel van Wyk
2005 Nobuyki Matsui
2004 Hirofumi Akagi
2003 Robert D. Lorenz
2002 Rik W. De Doncke
2001 L. Bruce McClun
2000 Kouki Matsuse
1999 Akira Nabae
1998 Donald W. Novotny
1997 Joachim Holtz
1996 Austin H. Bonnett
1995 C. James Erickson
1994 Ray P. Stratford
1993 Bimal K. Bose
1992 M. Azizur Rahman
1991 Thomas E. Sparling
1990 George W. Walsh
1989 Donald K. Ross
1988 C. Curtis Herskind
1986 Thomas A. Lipo
1984 Russell W. Mills
1983 Ion I. Inculet
1982 Anthony C. Lordi
1981 Edward A. E. Rich
1980 Richard M. Emberson
1979 F. A. Furfari
1978 Richard Harold Kaufmann
1977 Irvin N. Howell
1976 Ralph H. Lee
1975 Walter R. Harris
1974 Harold Winograd
1973 Robert V. Wachter
1972 Boris Mokrytski
1971 Donald S. Brereton
1970 Charles F. Dalziel
1969 Robert B. Moore