

Chapters and Membership Department

IAS STUDENT THESIS CONTEST 2024

Procedure Manual

Purpose

The IAS Chapters and Membership Department (CMD) is pleased to announce the 2024 Student Thesis Contest to recognize the best emerging academic work on the scope of the Industry Applications Society.

The scope of the Industry Applications Society is the *advancement of the theory and practice of electrical and electronic engineering* in the development, design, manufacture and application of electrical systems, apparatus, devices and controls to the processes and equipment of industry and commerce; the promotion of safe, reliable and economic installations; industry leadership in energy conservation and environmental, health, and safety issues; the creation of voluntary engineering standards and recommended practices; and the professional development of its membership.

More information relating to the IAS technical scope can be found in the IAS website at the following link: https://ias.ieee.org/about/mission-vision-core-values-2/

Eligibility

To be considered as a recipient of the IAS Student Thesis Contest Award, the candidate's thesis must have successfully been defended within two calendar years prior to the submission date and be relevant to the scope of the IA-Society. The candidate should be an IEEE IAS student or higher grade member for at least one year before the contest submission. The following two categories will be considered:

- a) PhD
- b) Non-PhD

Nomination

The nomination will be processed on a basis of application/self-nomination. Each entry should contain the following documents:

- a) **Signed endorsement letter** from the thesis advisor/supervisor stating the significance of the thesis and the candidate's eligibility for this award.
- b) **Summary** with author's name and thesis title on the top, with **not more than 5 pages** of a clear description of the task, the method of the solution and the results, including explanatory figures with English captions and legends. The abstract should explain from the candidate's perspective, the impact on professional knowledge, applicable technologies or industry processes/products, and highlight at least one outstanding contribution made by the candidate.
- c) Only for PhD category: one best selected publication and a list of selected 5 publications
- d) PDF copy of the **original thesis work**

Documents a)-c) must be in PDF and submitted in English (even if the thesis was originally written in another language). I.e., there is NO need to translate the whole thesis.

Submissions must be made using the IAS CMD Thesis Contest online form at the following links:

CMD Thesis Contest Application Form 2024 – Non-PhD

CMD Thesis Contest Application Form 2024 – PhD

Due Date

The nomination documents must be submitted on or before May 5, 2024

Evaluation

The Thesis contests will be evaluated by a panel under the leadership of the Thesis contest subcommittee chair.

The evaluation committee will evaluate the thesis work based on the following criteria:

•	Quality and form of the documents	(10 points)
•	Clarity of the abstract and figures	(20 points)
•	Relevancy of the thesis work to the scope of the IA-Society	(20 points)
•	Creativity	(20 points)
•	Scientific / technical merit	(30 points)

The final recipient(s) will be notified in due time after the submission has been closed. If, in the opinion of the Selection Committee, none of the candidates sufficiently meets the criteria for the contest, the award will not be given for that year.

The Prize

The first, second and third prize recipients in each category will receive a certificate and cash prize amount of \$600, \$500 and \$400 respectively. The prize also includes an Annual Meeting Travel Grant to attend the IAS Annual Meeting. The travel grant is subject to IEEE travel regulations, the modality of CMD activities at the IAS Annual Meeting and the status of the Annual Meeting Travel Grant Program (AMTGP). CMD reserves the right to suspend the AMTGP.

For any queries regarding the contest, please contact the CMD Thesis Contest Subcommittee Chair:

• Dr. Richárd Cselko, richard.cselko@ieee.org