IEEE IAS Electrical Safety Committee Meeting

Minutes

March 8, 2021 1-3pm EST Virtual Meeting

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 1:05 pm by Daniel Roberts.
- 2. Roll call was taken. Seventy-three people participated in the call. A quorum was established with 27 of 35 voting members in attendance. See Appendix A.
- 3. The agenda was reviewed. Daniel Roberts proposed an amendment to the agenda to relocate agenda item 10, the Subcommittee reports, after agenda item 6, business from the executive subcommittee meeting. A motion to approve the agenda was made by Steve Wilson and seconded by Marcelo Valdes. The agenda was approved.
- 4. The minutes from the 2020 meeting were distributed electronically to members. A motion to approve the minutes was made by Marcelo Valdes and seconded by Lanny Floyd. The minutes were approved.
- 5. Report from the Chair was given by Daniel Roberts summarizing committee activities including updates to bylaws and operating manual and proposals for two new committee awards.
- 6. Business arising from the Executive Subcommittee meeting was reviewed. This included considerations for electrical safety for in-home occupations (to be evaluated by the Technical Subcommittee), improving in-person ESW experience (action for local committee for ESW), increased involvement with IEEE Smart Village (International Subcommittee has contacts), and methods for subcommittee to share resources.
- 10. Each Subcommittee chair gave a brief report on their activities. See attached presentation materials.
 - If you are interested in contributing to any of the subcommittees, please contact the subcommittee chair. Hugh Hoagland has retired as Chair of the IAS Committee Relations Subcommittee. If you are interested in volunteering to Chair this Subcommittee, contact Daniel Roberts.
- 7. Updates to the Committee Bylaws and Operating Manual were proposed to eliminate overlapping and conflicting requirements, and to better align with the committee activities. Daniel Roberts reviewed the updates. A motion to approve updates to the Committee Bylaws & Operating Manual was made by Lloyd Gordon and seconded by David Pace. The motion was approved.
- 8. The A&N Subcommittee nominated Dennis Hill for the position of Electrical Safety Committee Secretary for the 2021 to 2023 term. A motion to elect Dennis as the Incoming Secretary was made by Steve Wilson and seconded by Kevin Lippert. The motion was approved.
- 9. Two new Committee awards, the Young Professional Achievement Award and the Technical Achievement Award were proposed. A motion to approve new awards was made by Dan Doan and seconded by Jay Prigmore. The motion was approved.
 - In addition, descriptions and criteria for the William C. Jordan Award, Outstanding Service Award, and Excellence in Prevention through Design Award were revised to provide clear distinction between each award and to ensure consistency in the nomination and selection processes. A motion to approve the revised award criteria was made by Steve Wilson and seconded by Dennis Neitzel. The motion was approved.
- 11. ESW will be held virtually for the first time in 2021. Kevin Lippert, Chair of the 2021 ESW provided a quick overview of the event. Thanks to Kevin and the ESW Local Committee members who did an outstanding job adapting to changing requirements and planning the event this year.

- 12. Plans are in place for a return to an in-person event for 2022 ESW. Mark Scott, Chair of the 2022 ESW provided an update. The call for papers is open with a focus on five new areas: leading an electrical incident investigation, inspecting and accepting unlisted equipment, preventing contact with power lines, making the business case for electrical safety, and breaking the plateau in electrical injury occurrences. The tutorials from 2021 call for papers will be carried over to the 2022 ESW. Call for tutorials will resume in 2022.
- 13. Future ESW dates and locations were announced:

March 6 – 11, 2022, Hyatt Jacksonville, FL, Chair: Mark Scott

March 12 – 17, 2023, Peppermill Reno, NV, Chair: Arthur Smith

March 4-8, 2024, El Conquistador Tucson, AZ, Chair: Jay Prigmore

14. There was no new business.

The next meeting will be March 7, 2022 in Jacksonville, FL, USA.

Thanks to Daniel Roberts for his leadership of the Electrical Safety Committee the past two years.

15. A motion to adjourn was made by Dennis Neitzel and seconded by Steve Wilson. The motion was approved, and the meeting was adjourned at 2:36 pm.

Appendix A: Voting member attendance

Last Name	First Name	Attendance
Bugaris	Rachel	Yes
Campbell	Eric	Yes
Clark	Eva	Yes
Crow	D Ray	Regrets
Doan	Daniel	Yes
Dobrowsky	Paul	Yes
Doherty	Mike	Yes
Domitrovich	Thomas	Yes
El-Sherif	Nehad	Regrets
Floyd	Lanny	Yes
Glenny	Jeff	Yes
Gordon	Lloyd	Yes
Graves	Rene'	Yes
Hill	Dennis	Yes
Hoagland	Hugh	Regrets
Liggett	Danny	Regrets
Lippert	Kevin	Yes
Majd	Afshin	Yes
Mohla	Daleep	Regrets
Neitzel	Dennis	Yes
Pace	David	Yes
Prigmore	Jay	Yes
Pruitt	Irozenell	Regrets
Roberts	Daniel	Yes
Rohrer	Tim	Regrets
Saporita	Vince	Yes
Scott	Mark	Yes
Seaver	Scott	Yes
Smith	Arthur	Yes
Sullivan	Paul	Yes
Tyler	Frank	Yes
Valdes	Marcelo	Yes
White	Jim	Regrets
White	Ken	Yes
Wilson	Stephen	Yes