CMD Roster

Chapters and Membership Department (CMD) Roster



CMD 2019


Committee / Position Name Email Photo
CMD Chair Lesley Arakkal

Lesley Arakkal pic

CMD Past Chair

Director of Chapter Development

Peter Magyar

2017 11 06 Peter Magyar

Chapters and Membership Committee, Chair


1.1. Membership and event support

1.2. DL program

1.3. Member support

1.4. Chapter forming

1.5. Chapter starting subsidy

1.6. Chapter meeting support

1.7. Chapter meeting co-ordination

1.8. Area chairs

1.9. Chapter and region visit travels

1.10. IAS representatives to Regions

Srikanth V Pillai 


Students, YP and WIE Events Committee, Chair


2.1. National SYPs, RNRs

2.2. Regional SYPs, RRRs

2.3. WIE ILS events

2.4. Society and Inter-Society events

Sumit Chhabria


Annual Workshop Organizing Committee, Chair


3.1.Annual CMD and Chapter Workshop

3.2. New initiatives


Ines Abdennaji

  photo ines

Student Technical Conference Committee, Chair


4.1. Regional and subregional technical events

4.2. Student-led technical paper conferences

4.3. $300 travel program

4.4. $500 travel program

Richárd Cselkó


Awards and Contests Committee, Chair


5.1. CMD Contest overall organization

5.2. Outstanding Chapter Contest

5.3. Outstanding Member Contest

5.4. Web Contest

5.5. Most happening IAS Chapter Contest

5..6. Thesis Contes, PhD

5.7. Thesis Contest, non-PhD

5.8. Robot Demo Contest

5.9. Humanitarian Contest

5.10. Zucker Design Contest, individual

5.11. Zucker Design Contest, team

5.12. Zucker Student-Faculty Grant Program

Lesley Arakkal

Lesley Arakkal pic

Public Relations Committee, Chair


6.1. PR design activity

6.2. CMD website

Yanni Zhong

Yanni Zhong1

Distinguised Lecturer Program Committee, Chair


7.1. Managaing DL and PL Program

Tamás Ruzsányi Tamas Ruzsanyi

Financial Committee, Chair


8.1. Budget planning and reporting

8.2. Budget control

8.3. Bookkeeping and expense approval

Peter Magyar


2017 11 06 Peter Magyar


Appointed Positions

AMTGP Evaluation Manager Beata Polgari Beáta Polgári
CMD WIE Chair Pooja Singh Pooja Singh
IAS YP Chair Sumit Chhabria Sumit




CMD 2018


Chapters and Membership Department (CMD)

Chair: Peter Magyar,

CMD Chapter Development Committee

Chair: Peter Magyar,

CMD Chapter Promotion Programs Standing Committee

Chair: Lesley Arakkal,

CMD Travel Awards and Events Standing Committee

Chair: Blake Lloyd,


1) Promote IAS brand to develop new chapters

(Travel position with IAS President)

2) Maintain Society statistics for chapters & membership

3) Liaise with sister societies in development of joint chapters

4) Organize regional workshops 

5) IAS Promotion a. Promotion codes b. Website

6) Prepare IAS Newsletter & Magazine articles 


1) Manage IAS  Myron Zucker Research Grant Program

2) Organize CMD Chapter / Individual / Team  Contests

a. Outstanding Member

b. Outstanding Chapter

c. Chapter Web Contest

d. Most Happening IAS Chapter

e. Student Thesis Contest

f. Myron Zucker Design Contest

g. Robotics Demonstration Contest

h. Humanitarian Project Contest

3) Job and Internship Program

4) Prepare IAS Newsletter & Magazine articles


1) Manage Travel Award and Event Programs


b. IAS Myron Zucker Travel Grant

c. IAS WIE Travel Grant Program

d. Conference Publication and Travel Grant Program

e. YP Events

f. Student led conferences

g. Conference Information Desk Program

h. Distinguished Lecturer Program 

2) Prepare IAS Newsletter & Magazine articles


2017 11 06 Peter Magyar


Lesley Arakkal pic


Blake Lloyd pic




CMD 2017


The full CMD Roster 2017 incl. Committee Chairs, Program Managers, Area Chairs and their contact addresses can be seen here.


Name Function
Lesley Ann Arakkal Awards and Contest Committee Chair

Lesley Arakkal


Srikanth Vasudevan P Chapters and Membership Growth Committee Chair           

Srikanth VP


Christina-Panagiota Malliou           Support Programs Committee Chair  

Christina P Malliou


Aristotelis Farmakis PR and Sponsorship Committee Chair

Aristotelis Farmakis


Megha Tak

YP Committee Chair

Megha Tak


Beáta Polgári Travel Grants Committee Chair

Beáta Polgári


Mark Halpin Zucker Planning and Operation Committee Chair

Mark Halpin. PNG


Peter Magyar Chapters and Membership Department (CMD) Chair Peter Magyar repro 688x963pixel color JPEG