The IAS Awards Department manages the overall award activity for the Society.  The Awards Department Chair is responsible for selecting committee members for each of the Society level awards given by the Society and the committees are then responsible for reviewing applicants and then selecting the individual award recipients. Self nomination is not permitted for any of the following awards.  Nominations are accepted from 1 January through 1 April.

Self-nominations are not permitted.

Recipients will be presented the awards at the 2023 IAS Annual Meeting or other IAS sponsored conference chosen by the recipient.

Only one nomination per nominee will be evaluated. The first recorded nomination (earliest date) will be forwarded for the evaluation in case of multiple nominations received of a single nominee.

An IAS Board member can neither serve as a nominator nor be a nominee.

A complete listing of past award recipients is available on the IAS History folder on the About Us tab.  A brief description of the Society and Department awards are listed on folders to the left.  IEEE level award information can be found on the IEEE site.


Nomination Forms can be found by opening the links below.  Only on-line submissions will be accepted for award nominations.


Andrew W. Smith Outstanding Young Member Achievement Award (Submission Deadline is 1 April)

Distinguished Service Award (Submission Deadline is 1 April)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Submission Deadline is 1 April)

Outstanding Young Member Service Award (Submission Deadline is 1 April)

IAS Outstanding Educator/Mentor Award (Submission Deadline is 1 April)

The call for nominations for 2023 is open only for industry nominees.

Primary appointment will be considered for eligibility.


A retired candidate will be considered based on his last primary appointment.

Kliman Award (Submission Deadline is June 1)

The IEEE IAS Industrial Power Conversion Systems Department (IPCSD) Gerald Kliman Innovator Award was established to honor innovators who contributed to the techncial areas of IPCSD Department.  The department administers this award program


2020 IAS Awards

PES/IAS A. P. Seethapathy Rurual Electrification Excellence Award:  Louis Toth