IAS Technical Department Roster

The Industry Applications Society is comprised of many Technical, Operating Departments and Standing Committees, which are responsible for ensuring our members needs are met.

Each Technical Department of the IAS is composed of several Technical Committees.  These Technical Committees are responsible for the solicitation and selection of papers for presentation at IEEE meetings, and for the grading and recommendation regarding publication in IEEE Transactions on Industry Applications and the IEEE Industry Applications Magazine or other IEEE publications of all papers submitted for presentation or publication. Technical Committees are also responsible for the initiation, preparation and formulation of Standards, Specifications, Operating and Application Guides, Test Procedures and Recommended Practices for issue in accordance with IEEE regulations. They provide technical assistance to chapters formed within their respective scope.  See below for a list of technical committees within each of the IAS Operating Departments.

Technical Departments

Manufacturing Systems and Development

Mohammad Uddin, Chair muddin@Lakeheadu.ca

Masaaki Okubo

mokubo@me.osakafu-u.ac.jp
Babik Nahid-Mobarakeh

babak.nahid@gmail.com

Kayo Suzuki

kayoszk@quartz.ocn.ne.jp

Process Industries Steve Coppinger, Chair

scoppinger@calportland.com 

  • Cement Industry
Corinne Fields Corinne.fields@icloud.com
Stephen Wilson sfwilson@ieee.org

Thomas J. Dionise 

tom.dionise@ieee.org

David Mazur

dcmazur@ra.rockwell.com
Peter Baen

peter.baen@thermon.com

Greg Drewiske

Greg.Drewiske@Versoco.com

Industrial and Commercial Power Systems Andrew Hernandez, Chair Andrew.Hernandez@astrazeneca.com 
  • Codes and Standards

Marcelo E. Valdes

marcelo.valdes@ge.com

  • Energy Systems

Mahesh Illindala 

millindala@ieee.org

  • Power Systems Engineering

Sergio Panetta

spanetta@ieee.org
  • Power Systems Protection

Rob Hoerauf 

robhoerauf@earthlink.net

  • Rural Electric Power
Chris Brooks

brooksc2002@hotmail.com 

Industrial Power Conversion Systems Department Po-Tai Cheng, Chair ptcheng@ieee.org
Andy Knight

andyknight@ieee.org

Michael Harke mcharke@ieee.org

Pericle Zanchetta

Pericle.Zanchetta@nottingham.ac.uk 
Shashank Krishnamurthy shashank.km@gmail.com
  • Renewable and Sustainable Energy Conversion Systems
Ylimaz Sozer
Burak Ozpineci burak@ornl.gov